Simplygourmetbistroandcatering’s Blog


The Personal side of Simply Gourmet
January 16, 2009, 11:10 pm
Filed under: Why I am where I am

Wedding Table SettingSeeing as I am struggling with the whole wordpress pages thing. (Can you treat all the pages as separate entities like with different entries and stuff, if so I have no idea how to do that.) I will just begin telling my story.

I guess if you asked me what I really wanted out of life I would describe to you exactly the setup I have now(professionally anyways) I want to be Luke from The Gilmore Girls, always have and if there was such a place as Stars Hollow, that is where I would live. There is nothing more important to me when building culinary relationships with people than building personal ones as well. I am never happier than when someone tries my food and makes sure to give me a handshake and ask me my name before they leave. I have catered many a wedding in my time (think 1000’s, not hundreds) and I have become lifelong friends with alot of my brides, another very satisfying feeling. So what is wrong you ask? Well if I had to sum it up in one sentence, “I am on the wrong coast!!!!” I have spent some time in California and I tell you places like I have are a dime a dozen, fresh food, personable service, attention given to every customer are the norm. Unfortunately for me (from what I have seen so far anyways) the East Coast, especially the northeastern part is not all that friendly.

Now don’t get me wrong, I have lived here all my life and I can understand why there is such a difference. Weather, economy, politics, they all play into it, but dammit people “Can’t we all just get along?” I have lived through the blizzards, and the wait a minute weather, the dukakis’s, the big dig, the fickle nature of the sports fans, the planes leaving from Logan and everything in between, but I truly believe that it is not too late to come together a little. Naturally I felt cuisine was a great way to bridge the gap, I mean who doesn’t love Nutella or a great cheeseburger. When I cater a wedding you can tell if the people like each other or not and then once they sit down and eat , it is like they are forced into discussion and interaction with food as the centerpiece. I want to provide an atmosphere and cuisine that is conducive to interaction and family and the desire to be better human beings. It isn’t too much to ask is it?

J

Coming Soon….. How I went from dropping a 1200 pound safe on my leg to being a full service Banquet Chef and beyond!!!!!

https://simplygourmetbistroandcatering.wordpress.com/2009/01/17/i-dropped-a-1200-pound-safe-on-my-legs/

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I agree with you-the cold weather makes people assholes.

Comment by Tommy

Being your place is not a dime a dozen, that gives you a huge advantage. The thousands of dime a dozen places in CA no doubt struggle left and right to set themselves apart.

From my memories of working in RI, had we found a place such as how you and Chris describe yours, we would have been back there a multitude of times. Sounds way cool!

Comment by Ron Amundson

Thanks for sharing your story. I lived in Southern California for 24 years, so I know what you mean about lots of great restaurants and friendly people. Customer service is a huge part of creating a successful business. I’m glad you’re setting a good example at Simply Gourmet Bistro!

Comment by Lana




Leave a Reply

